cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Year End Survey

Mnemosynea does a nice year-end survey every year and I'm going to crib from it.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you'd never done before?

Finished writing a book.

2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Sort of. I am a better fisherman now, but not as good as I'd hoped.


3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Nope.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Yes. My grandfather.

5. What countries did you visit?

Canada, the Bahamas. Probably somewhere else as well. I'm getting the last 2 years all in a blur here.

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

A real income. A decent standard of living.

7. What date(s) from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

September 1st. The first day of freedom from my day job.


8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Changing careers.


9. What was your biggest failure?

This sounds assinine, but nothing stands out as a real failure this past year, in retrospect.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nothing serious.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

A new camcorder thingie.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Ida's. She is a very good girl.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Nobody's.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Paying the mortgage.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Starting the travel for my second book.

16. What song will always remind you of 2010?

'Egyptian Basses,' by COIL.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

happier or sadder?

Happier.

thinner or fatter?

The same.

richer or poorer?

The same, though with excellent prospects.

18. What do you wish you�d done more of?

More exercise.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Nothing.

20. How did you spend Christmas 2010?

With Trish and the kids, at her parents' house on account of our furnace being broken.

21. Half empty or half full?

Full.

22. Did you fall in love in 2010?

No.

23. How many one-night stands?

None.

24. What was your favorite TV program?

Supernatural.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn�t hate this time last year?

No.

26. What was the best book you read?

'How Few Remain,' by Harry Turtled0ve.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

The Shaggs.

28. What did you want and get?

A serious career as a professional author and minor celebrity.

29. What did you want and not get?

Enough money to live in a proper house.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

Nothing stands out. I don't get to watch movies very often.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I can't remember the answer to either. I am either 32 or 33. I honestly forget which and I don't recall where I was on my birthday.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Getting laid more often.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?

That sort of thing has been very far from my mind.

34. What kept you sane?

My missions.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I don't watch TV or movies, so I have no exposure to what celebrities look like.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

For the first time in years, none. I have stayed out of politics this year.

37. Who did you miss?

I'd rather not say.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

F. and the reintroduction of Mary.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.

Sink your teeth into something and don't let go.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

No.

11:47 p.m. - 2011-01-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far