cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And M0ther J0nes and stuff

Tomorrow I'm doing an interview with Mother J0nes.

Last night I wrote gun reviews into the wee hours. I'm sick of treading water. I need my book advance money fucking right now. I need to hit the road and do more things to write about. Otherwise I'm a fucking poser, sitting in my living room on my laptop talking about great deeds that were, lets face it, all over a month in the past.

These last few days I've been cooking a lot. Yesterday I made gyros and today I made the most wonderful pasta sauce over angel hair.

1 can of artichoke hearts
3 tbs olive oil
2 tbs minced garlic
a bunch of minced fresh dill
1 tomato, diced
Some pepper
A dash of sage
1/ of an onion, minced
1/4 cup of chardonnay

In a frying pan, heat the oil and then caramelize the onions on low heat. Add the garlic and brown very briefly before adding the artichoke hearts and tomato. Throw in the dill, pepper and sage, to taste. Add the chardonnay towards the end.

Serve over angel hair pasta.

It was fucking excellent. I just sort of made it up as I went along. Naturally, Trish refused to so much as taste it. On account of, you know, secretly despising every creative thing that I set about doing.

Last night I made a 5 gallon batch of beer which is fermenting right now.

I'm sick of hanging around the house so much. Being low on money I am loathe to commute back and forth to town or anywhere else, and working in town also means dropping money on coffee and lunch and so forth. I can't do much of that until my next advance check shows up.

I'm also becoming furious at my agent. A blinding white heat of a a fury. I sent her the proposal and sample chapters 2 weeks ago and she hasn't done SHIT with them yet. If I don't hear from her by the end of the day tomorrow then I'm formally non-renewing my contract with her and signing with someone else. I don't need to put up with this shit. I have paid my fucking dues as an author and gone above and beyond the call of duty in building a platform and doing everything that any agent could ask that a non-fiction author do in order to be incredibly marketable. Through various media outlets, I have communicated with about ten million people per month for the last 4 months.

IS IT SO MUCH TO ASK FOR YOU TO FUCKING FORWARD THE SAMPLE CHAPTERS TO SOME EDITORS?!?!?!?!?! We're talking about maybe an hour's worth of work in composing these individual emails and attaching the documents. An hour. An hour, following the year of grueling work and sacrifice and incredible personal risk that I and my family have suffered to produce this thing.

7:22 p.m. - 2011-01-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far