cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An Invitation

I've been playing phone tag from this woman at Tru tee vee and didn't get to talk to her today on account of sleeping until noon (I was up til 3 am last night, doing research for a book project) and then being out driving around looking at houses all afternoon.

When I finally got home a few minutes ago I was greeted by a nice email asking me to appear as a speaker at the next conference of the Outd00r Writers Ass0ciation of America. They are offering to cover all of my travel expenses and so forth.

This is kind of a big deal. I mean, I took up this trade as a professional less than a year ago. Full time, its only been a matter of months. And here this professional organization of people who have been in this business for decades is flying me out to Utah to tell them what's what about something. Its rather a humbling thing. There will be people in the audience whose work I have been reading since I was in high school.

There will be editors from N@tional Geographic and Field & Stre@m present. If I do a good job at this thing then I could be setting myself up to get published in just about any magazine I would want.

I've been toying with the idea of pitching an article about my proposed river trip to N@tional Geographic. This conference is going to be months after the trip, however.

We found a house that we want to rent. I'd like to pay the deposit and secure it right away, ONLY MY FUCKING CHECK FROM MY PUBLISHER STILL ISN'T HERE.

6:49 p.m. - 2011-01-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far