cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

4 Day Countdown

Now they're all showering me with emails about how very much they want this book and how a firm offer with dollar amounts is on the way as soon as their promotion people finish calculating their sales estimates.

Fucking finally. I'm getting really sick of sitting around waiting for this shit to be squared away.

I did a stupid interview today. Another one of these reporters who is bullshitting me about research and so on. Claiming that he's doing an article covering the inv@sivore movement in the NYC area and that he's been talking to a number of the various groups involved with this around NY state and that he wanted to get my thoughts on a few things.

What a fucking liar. I didn't call him that and I was perfectly polite about the whole thing. But the only person in the world who is doing this is ME. That's it. There is no movement. It doesn't exist. The NYT badly characterized the whole thing. Its just me, working on a book about doing this. That's the whole 'movement.' All of these dozens of other newspaper and magazine articles are just exaggerating.

I keep explaining during these interviews, patiently and politely, that there is no movement and that it is just me for now but that a lot of people are interested and I'm conducting a series of events aimed at creating a grassroots movement. That rarely seems to make it to print.

Meanwhile, if everyone insists on believing that there is some huge national movement that I am the leader of, fine. It can only increase my perceived value to publishers and will hopefully push up the advances offered. I am not going to lie to anyone, but am perfectly happy to reap the benefits of their willful ignorance.

I've been doing lots and lots of cooking lately. Mostly vegetables, oddly enough.

In 4 days I leave for Savannah! The chick at M0ther J0nes blogged about me today. This guy we are going hunt with is a serious piece of work, though. I'm worried that his gung-ho bullshit is going to color the article in a bad way.

6:50 p.m. - 2011-02-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far