cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Fired My Agent

Today I fired my agent. I sent her an email that was very polite, under the circumstances. I didn't want it to come to this but I don't see how I had any other options.

I don't have a new agent lined up yet and it feels really weird not having any agent at all. I feel very much adrift.

Six weeks have gone by since I handed over the materials for the new book and she hasn't really done a fucking thing with it. This is just unacceptable. At this point I'm in danger of missing the travel for the book that needs to happen in April. There are species I need to get that I can only get in the spring. To fuck up this timing would mean having to wait a whole extra YEAR to complete the book.

Unacceptable.

Meanwhile, she swore that my current publisher for my first book was about to make an offer on the new book at any moment. That was 2 weeks ago and its been silence since then. There is no excuse at all for her having sat around doing nothing for this long. She hasn't pitched the book to a single publisher except for the one that I had already talked to on my own and sent to her. She's offered no excuses, explanations or apologies. She just sits there doing nothing for week after week after week.

This woman is slowly ruining my career. If this was some side thing for me then it wouldn't matter much. But I've devoted my life to this and I have literally risked everything that I have on it. House, IRA, marriage, previous career, inheritance, credibility. All of these things have been put down on the table and this lazy, unreliable woman will cause me to lose it all if I don't get rid of her.

10:50 a.m. - 2011-02-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far