cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Taking Care of Business

I still haven't bothered to read any of the email from my former agent. I just don't give a shit what she has to say. If I saw an email with a subject line that showed that I was being CCed on or forwarded some communication between her and an editor then I would probably read that. Or if I got an envelope in the mail with a check in it.

Those are things that I would find compelling enough to read. Anything that is just words from her in an email to me is just not worth giving a shit about. Her words, promises and explanations are no longer of any possible interest to me.

The remainder of my advance managed to not show up in today's mail, yet again. Now I'm just angry. Really, really fucking angry. Its been 5 weeks since they were legally obligated to pay me. I emailed my editor very bluntly a few minutes ago asking where my money is.

If she tells me to go through my agent then I will inform her that I've just fired my agent on account of her failing to market the new book. This will result in amusing drama, because my editor goes way back with my agent and this editor is also supposedly bidding on the new book but has been farting around for 6 weeks now and hasn't actually mad an offer. The editor will feel badly for the fact that her friend lost an important client over something that was, in part, her fault.

Such drama would also drive home to my publishers the fact that in spite of my having been really really agreeable and fast and enthusiastic about working with them for the past year, I will not put up with unprofessional behavior. When I say "do your fucking job" or "pay me" (always in more diplomatic terms than that) they had fucking well do what they are supposed to be doing or I will take my ball and go home.

Come to think of it, I'm going to withhold my final review of the sample pages along with the photo captions until they pay me. I will not provide any more work in support of this book until I am paid what I am owed.

4:38 p.m. - 2011-02-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far