cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why do I know this?

I have been teaching Ida basic astronomy. Differences between planets and moons and asteroids. Teaching her how to draw a map of the solar system, complete with planets, the main asteroid belt, Kuiper belt with primary objects, and the Oort cloud. Differences in composition of bodies in the inner versus outer solar system. What is a gas giant, etc.

We're also been working on cosmology and the concept of the big bang. Age of the universe versus the Earth. Basic geology of Earth, parts of the Earth in cross section.

Next we need to cover atomic theory. What is an element, parts of an atom, what is a molecule, etc. Then we'll come back to microbiology using the microscope I bought her.

Suddenly I realized something: How do I know all of this shit? The sheer variety of science that I have have absorbed is something I can't really explain. Why is it that I can draw maps of the solar system and explain geology and shit? I never took an astronomy or geology class in my life.

I have no good explanation for this.

9:02 p.m. - 2011-02-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far