cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shitty Book Contract Offer

The first contract offer for the new book finally came in today. And it is shit.

$14,000. Fucking get real. $14k paid in 2 installments of $7k each, with about $1k going to the agent's commission, means that I would have to finish the book on a budget of only $6k. Oh sure, there would be another $6k coming when I finished the book but that is no help at all with the cost of actually traveling all over the US to finish this book.

Then add in the fact that I have, like, bills to pay. Children to provide for. And writing a book like this cannot be a part time job. They know perfectly well that this would be just about a full time deal with lots of travel for months.

Oh, and lets not forget the fact that I have very limited transportation at the moment. Since Trish totaled her car she has to use my car to shuttle the kids around. Now how in the fuck am I supposed to hit the road for weeks on end with no fucking car or truck?

What I need is at least $14k UP FRONT. Enough to cover the travel costs and buy some other cheap used vehicle.

To add insult to injury, they wrote up this contract to include foreign rights AND TV.

FUCK YOU, PUBLISHER.

I have spent the last 8 months busting my ass to develop a TV show based on this book, running my own PR (very successfully), finding producers, writing up treatments, spending my time and money towards filming a pilot. And these fucking assholes think that they are entitled to own the TV rights and only hand me 50%? What the fuck do they think that they would have done to earn that share? Its not like they are offering substantial financing for what I'm doing.

Don't even get me started on the foreign rights issue.

Frankly, they can go and fuck themselves. I probably have a competing offer coming in next week. If this is the only offer I have coming from my shitty agent then I will shelve the project. I will make a few more trips on my own dime by scaring up money however possible, digging ditches if I have to. And then I'll wait until there is a quarter of sales figures for the deer book and re-market the new book.

I am honestly insulted by this offer, on multiple levels. I've already made it clear that I literally cannot accept this offer. If I did then I'd finish a few more chapters and then run out of money and the book would not get finished and there would be nothing that I or anyone could do about it because I'm flat fucking broke.

7:41 p.m. - 2011-03-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far