cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Also Simon & Schuster Thinks I'm Too Serious

I'm trying to think about the canoeing trip in May more than anything else today.

Gabe and I are talking a lot about filming it and making a documentary about the trip. Gabe wants to do a whole outline and story arc in advance. I'm telling him that this idea of his is fucking retarded, since we have no idea what is going to happen.

That is what I fucking hate about 'reality' TV. How fake and idiotic all of it is. Its all scripted, its all shit, its all fucking retarded.

I hate how 'reality' TV has infected documentary film. To the point where this guy I'm working with, who has done all of this still photography work for Nati0nal Ge0graphic, is concerned with scripting the fucking movie before we've even gotten into the canoes.

Let what happens, happen. And things will happen. Lets just get on the river and film what unfolds over the next few weeks and let that be the story and accentuate that story through judicious editing. You know, MAKING A FUCKING DOCUMENTARY FILM.

Jesus fucking Christ. It is just so sad how this perspective of idiocy in film has infected everyone. I am very fortunate to have sat out most of the last 10 years of television history. Because let me tell you a painful truth: IT HAS MADE YOU STUPIDER.

8:43 p.m. - 2011-03-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far