cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Between a Rock and Another Rock

Ok, a bad financial situation is brewing and I've got to do something about it quickly.

I won't the $10k of the up-front advance money for the new book for at least another 6 weeks. This is because everyone in publishing is fucking retarded and wouldn't last a week working at any serious modern business. Meanwhile, I'm supposed to be pushing off on this 2 week road trip to get a few chapters done. I'm supposed to be leaving in only about 3 weeks.

At the same time, we're out of money at a really bad time. We're moving on Sunday. Actually, we're starting tomorrow if I can borrow a pickup truck. Its going to cost me at least $120 for renting the big truck and another $50 for all of the gas for all the other trips in borrowed pickup trucks.

Right now we have exactly $140 until the end of the month. That's $140 for gas, groceries, Harry's preschool tuition, moving, and anything else that comes up.

I am so fucked. So very, very fucked.

Somehow I need to pull probably about $3k out of my ass over the next few weeks. Starting with at least a few hundred in the next few days. But the only way I know how to do that is to (goddammit) schedule and announce another deer class.

But if I teach another stupid fucking 2 day class then that will fuck up all of my travel that needs to happen in April or May. All of which is mission-critical for the book.

I don't know what to do. My publisher fucked up big time. They should have gotten their shit together and offered the contract 2 months ago so the money would be here by now. And they should be giving me more money, because when I'm forced to make decisions like these in order to survive, I can't very well be producing the book for them.

This isn't like writing a novel, where it can maybe be done on weekends and evenings. This is a huge project requiring that I travel something like 12,000 miles, mostly driving, and spend weeks at a time on the road. How do they expect me to feed my family while I'm doing this?

I find myself resenting them more and more over time.

Somehow, tomorrow, I need to make quite a bit of money appear. I don't know how to do this.

12:30 a.m. - 2011-03-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far