cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hope

There is finally some good to report. I am still fucked in the short term, needing to pull at least $1,000 out of my ass in the next few days. However, I bought a shitty car to get us through the next month or so for $500. So we are at least slightly mobile.

More importantly, someone at a large state university asked about booking me as a speaker. And I realized that I should have been doing this for the last few months. I have enough professional credibility at this point to be speaking regularly at universities. I told my publicist to start booking me for as many of these as possible. I'm not even charging very much. $1k plus travel expenses. A lot of colleges have campus housing to put up visitors and speakers so it won't cost them much to bring me in. I would much rather do this than speak at business conventions. Speaking at colleges would mean just talking about what I'm doing and advocating for on account of these being important ideas. No need to connect it to profit or productivity or any such bullshit.

Finally, this feature in Men's J0urnal magazine might be getting even more interesting. Grant messaged me tonight to ask if I would be ok with going to the French Rhineland for a week in May so that he could do the article on me hunting wild boar there.

Oh, if I must.

I'm hoping to get some kind of speaking gig or two for April. I just desperately need the money. If I can line up a few events in April and maybe one in May then we could be ok for those months. Once we get into June the colleges will all be on summer break and there won't be any speaking gigs to be had. I don't know what I'm going to do about July. Hell, I still don't know for sure how to survive April, May or June. Or the next week.

11:50 p.m. - 2011-03-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far