cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Big money?

This factory thing is moving along fast. Did I mention that? How to even explain. Um. Ok, while in Louisiana I met and hunted with a famous chef who is trying to get a factory built that can process As1an c@rp from rivers and turn them into a commodity food product. My goal is getting these fuckers out of North America in general on account of them being an inv@sive species.

So I spent a long time talking to this dude, who has already spent a few million of his own money on getting the equipment designed and built and the labels for the products approved by FDA and USDA. Suddenly he's running out of money and can't find investment of the $6M it will take to get the plant built. Right away I started outlining strategies for getting the funding (what with having spent 11 years as an insurance broker and 10 of those years also working in politics).

His response was that if I can line up the funding or even make the introductions that lead to it, he'll cut me in for 5% of the stock.

After looking over the business plan for a few days and getting to really understand the price structure, I think that if this plant can get built then this company will be worth somewhere over $100M in five years. My little 5% stake could really amount to a serious chunk of money.

Already I've got a venture capitalist friend very interested and he and I are driving to DC in a few days to meet with a bunch of other investors and some lobbyists to talk about federal grant money that can get the plant built. At this point, everyone is telling me that I am now the biggest name out there in terms of experts on using inv@sive species for food. So they want me to be the face and the pitch man of this stage of the project. My name can open doors that might otherwise be closed.

Meanwhile, I'm fucking broke and can't take my kids to the dentist. But if this pays off then I think that our financial problems could be over. If this plant gets built then in a few years I'll be sitting on some millions of dollars.

1:26 p.m. - 2011-06-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far