cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a busy day

the shift key on my laptop is broken and i don't care to deal with trying to use the other one and learning to type all over again. fuck. so its all lower case today.

sorry.

last night the nyt ran an article that mentioned me and my work with geese. long story short, i finally won a fight that has been going on for the last year over what to do with geese that they are culling from airports in the area. i spent all afternoon doing interviews and rounding up photos and recipes for newspapers. then i finally did the expense account tally for my travel this past month. i have driven 3,858 miles just in the last month for this new book. then i had to put together a dvd of me doing stuff on camera for a tv production company and put together bio materials for this conference that i'm speaking at in less than a month. plus all sorts of normal correspondence, including back-and-forth about lining up the investors to get this factory built. it was a really busy day.

sadly, today i also got a piece of registered mail from my health insurance company. we have no health insurance coverage as of today. i don't have any money to pay the premiums and have no hope of getting it in the next week or two. the immediate situation is very, very bleak. we have about 60 dollars to get through until the end of the month. i don't know how we're even going to eat. trish still hasn't been able to find a job.

my job is writing and my keyboard is broken. its just bad all around. lots of things are happening that will pay off in six months or in a few years but right now we're just really, really fucked and i don't know what to do. i'm now this world-renowned expert in my field and i'm sort of famous and really busy but it just doesn't seem to translate into getting paid any time soon.

fame is just over-rated. being famous without having any money is a fucking pain in the ass.

i'm tired. i've put in my years of suffering and i just want to do my work, which i think is socially and environmentally important, without worrying about whether i can feed my children or whether they will have health care tomorrow.

11:16 p.m. - 2011-06-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far