cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Hope to Be the Man Begged For

It is a hell of a thing to be told through day after day that you are a man of substance and weight and that you are great and important.

This was what happened at this conference that I just returned from only about 24 hours ago. I spoke well and my theme became the theme of the entire conference. Great people whom I have idolized for years came to seek my advice and approval. Magazine editors are now begging me to submit stories and heads of important organizations are asking me to mediate their disagreements.

It was a hell of a time. It really was. I have come away from that trip with many, many important and good new friends. This has been so much more fulfilling than the conferences that I attended while in a different sort of business with my desk job for 11 years. All of us there in Utah LOVE what we do and what we write about. Its not like a banking or insurance convention. We're all out to save the world and we appreciate anyone else trying to do the same.

Yesterday in the wee hours of the morning I woke up with an irritated left eye and took my contact lens out with the result of a scratched cornea. I was essentially blind until a few hours ago. My trip through the various airports to get home had a touch of nightmare to it. A patch over my left eye entirely; while my right eye reacted constantly in automatic sympathy to the left; which is to say that it teared up and blurred horribly. Meanwhile the pain in my left eye was very distracting. I stumbled through airport after airport and flight after flight to get home.

My eye is much better now. Corneas heal quickly. I will spend one more day at home before hitting the road again to begin the two day drive to Florida to hunt musc0vy ducks and fish for t1lapia. This pace is rather grueling. I'll be gone for probably at least 9 or 10 days. Then when I get back I have to push off for Illinois and Michigan, and then NYC for at least a few days. And then I've applied for this residency in Texas that looks good and for which I might well be leaving for in mid-August.

They have dealt with me as a very important person who is changing the world. I don't know for sure whether I am really the man that they all want me to be. I know that I want to be what they need me to be. I have devoted myself in the most sincere way towards becoming that man. It is my great hope that I can be even a fraction of the man that they ask for.

12:59 a.m. - 2011-07-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far