cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Volunteers?

Today I was invited to come to Missouri by their Dept. of C0nservation to catch c@rp with them. How very obliging of them. I will take them up on it, as soon as my publisher coughs up the last $1,000 of expense money for producing the new book. Which had better happen soon because the book is due by the end of the month and I'm dangerously close to broke.

My TV producer is spouting wildly extravagant figures for what its going to cost to make the first season of this show. $50k per episode, for 13 original episodes. That is fucking ridiculous. I told him that I just spent 4 days in Florida bagging 3 or 4 different inv@sive species for around $500. If I'd been followed with a camera then we'd have gotten probably 2 episodes out of that trip. I don't want a crew of more than 2 or 3 other people following me around because we'll never get anything done.

The problem is these stupid fucking union crews that require that everyone get a certain type of accommodation with their own room at a hotel of sufficient quality every night. It becomes impossible to actually camp out for a few days while filming in the wilderness. This is the problem with working with an NYC-based production company. NYC union rules which are completely retarded and not at all suited for making a documentary series about hunting and fishing in remote places.

So we're supposed to be raising $850k from a bunch of sponsors to pay for the first season and I just think that this is too much money and that the budget is too high and that we're competing with other shows and eyeballs that aren't spending this much money on creature comforts while filming. I slept on the fucking ground last week in 100 degree heat and woke up and fucking dealt with it to go hunt sn@keheads because that was what it took to get the job done. What I need is a small crew of people who aren't a bunch of fucking pussies.

Whatever. This shit is so retarded.

The first copies of my first book are going to be printed and shipped on the 24th of this month. I'm a little bit nervous about reading it because I know that I'll find things wrong.

Also I still really need a volunteer to assist with this trip to the P0tomac river after sn@keheads this weekend. Any volunteers?

8:53 p.m. - 2011-08-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far