cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Its In My Blood

Its been a long time since I mentioned here the hunt for the arsonist who murdered my grandmother and five of her children. But that has been happening bit by bit.

We have the goods on him and we know exactly where he lives. We got a hold of the photos and other evidence from 42 years ago and it is now unanimously agreed that this was not an electrical fire and and that it was in fact arson. The photos prove that there were two points of initial combustion, which is a pretty damning evidence of arson.

We have means, motive and opportunity. We have an eyewitness who saw the suspect breaking into the house on other occasions. And now the local PD and FD are suddenly waking up and reopening the case before the suspect can die of old age.

There's just one problem. Nobody wanted to tell my cousin Patrick.

I didn't really know Patrick. He was my aunt's son with her second husband before she realized she was gay. He was born when I was about 12 years old and I only met him the once when he was about 3.

I never saw the guy again, since we lived 500 miles away and I didn't have a lot of money to go visiting family and as I got older there weren't family vacations to take me up there.

Then came my grandfather's funeral last year. I went up a week after he died and a year after I'd really started hunting his wife's killed in earnest.

While I was up there I finally met my 20 year old cousin. And he was great. A devoted fisherman and all-around good guy. I ended up coming back up a few months ago to spend a week fishing with him.

Patrick moved into my grandfather's house after he died. I'm very pleased that it has stayed in the family. Patrick represents the 6th generation in that house. When you figure for when it was half burnt 42 years ago.

Horsman has been obsessed with my family and with that house ever since he set the fire that killed most of my family. He kept revisiting the scene of the crime. He set fire to the trailer out back where my father, aunt and uncle lived with my grandfather while the house was being rebuilt. He showed up out front on various anniversaries. Including the 40th, where my grandfather confronted him a year before his death.

Its Horsman. He did it and we're going to nail him. Meanwhile the pressure is about to heat up and cops are going to be knocking on his door to question him again soon. This is a guy who, at the age of 61 now, has murdered other people since the fire. I've pulled his criminal records and this is a fact. He was convicted of attacking and robbing a blind man only a few years ago. He's guilty of everything from bank robbery to murder to rape.

And know he's about to find out that we know it was him. And Patrick lives at the same address that he has been obsessed with destroying for the last 42 years.

The rest of the family wanted to hide all of this from Patrick because they worried that he would seek vengeance on his own. This made sense, up to a point.

The problem is that I know for a fact that Patrick leaves his front door unlocked. He is the one living in the house that Horsman will target.

So I had to do something. I finally told Patrick everything tonight. Almost everything, anyway. And now he knows. Hopefully he knows the face to look out for and will lock his front door now.

And if he's going to do anything else, I hope he'll wait for me.

12:09 a.m. - 2011-09-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far