cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Down the River

I can't sleep, which usually doesn't matter. I keep my own hours. Tonight I had hoped to get to sleep early enough to wake up in time to meet an aquatic biologist at around 12:30 am to participate in the review of a large pond but I don't see that happening now. I never promised for sure that I'd be there so its not a big deal.

My whole sleep schedule got totally fucked by working on this book. Pulling an all-nighter threw me off a few nights ago. I went to sleep at 7 am, woke up at about 3 or 4 pm, and I've been off ever since.

Like I said, this isn't a huge deal. It has resulted in my not being up and about my day in time to deal with other human beings during normal business hours.

Tomorrow I have to get a haircut and mail a bunch of signed book plates to my publisher. This seems like a really half-assed way of providing signed books but whatever. They want me to sign some book plates, sure.

I'm starting to ever so slightly regret having this meeting with the hot Swedish filmmaker in the middle of next week. I suddenly want to pack my shit and spend a few days floating down the river in a canoe when I get back from this art show in PA this weekend. Geese are in season. I could bring a shotgun and a fishing rod and eat pretty well off of the water.

See how far I get. No real plan as to where I'd be going or when I'd be back. I'd like that. Just floating down the river for a while. Maybe I could leave on Thursday if I pick up the canoe in advance. Bring a camera and a notebook. It would be a cheap trip.

I'd be lonely, but that's nothing different. I still can't walk very far as my left foot is still healing. That shouldn't matter much in a canoe.

Ok. I'll do it. I'll leave on Thursday, one week from now.

There's enough time for this before I have to go back to PA for the M0ther E@rth News fair later this month. Now I don't regret having this meeting with the hot Swedish filmmaker at all.

Its been a few years since I've done something like this on a river. The tricky thing is that I don't have a GPS with mapping built in. So when I haul out of the river and need to get picked up its difficult to tell Trish or whomever where I am exactly.

This way I'll be in excellent form when I go to PA. Well fit and toned up from days of paddling.

The only exercise I've been getting lately is push-ups. I'm doing sets of 50 now. The goal is sets of 100 by next summer so that I can win the 0WAA push-up contest at the next conference. I can't run, jog, or even walk more than a couple of hundred yards right now without excruciating pain while my ligament or bone or whatever is still healing.

I wish very much I could have a woman along in the boat.

2:29 a.m. - 2011-09-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far