cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Iceberg

Today I caught fish. Yesterday I caught many fish. Both on a rod and with my net.

The heavy rains raised the water and it spills heavy and fast over the damn. The fish went over with the water and they all piled up in the deep pool at the bottom of the waterfall.

The fish would not last long there. For a while they could be well fed on baby shad and minnows and little bits of debris that rushes down the waterfall. Then the water will slow down to a trickle and the minnows and shad will stop coming and the pool will grow shallower. Some will starve, others will be picked off by the herons.

I didn't feel bad about hitting them hard. None of them had long lives to look forward to.

The sound of rushing white water lent a sense of constant urgency to the proceedings. It was not possible to become bored there.

I caught many small fish and released them. Hundreds of them. When I found something new in my net I held it very carefully and photographed it. Little redh0rse suckers and catfish the size of my finger.

A dozen or so of the larger panfish went into the bucket and came home with me. Sunfish, crappies, bluegill. Shining silver gizzard shad as long as my forearm. A few small bass and one great fat lunker of a largemouth bass.

It was warm out on the rocks beside the waterfall. I took off my shirt and drank from the old metal canteen in my pack.

__________

I don't sleep at night any more. Sometimes a little just before dawn. There's no going to bed any more. She goes upstairs and puts the kids in our bed and reads to them or tells them a story with some vague promise of coming back downstairs later but never comes back.

My bed is full of people and the lights are off and I can't read in there. And anyway I hate trying to sleep alone.

5:09 a.m. - 2011-09-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far