cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Perfect Love Letter

She just sent me a really sweet email. So I sent her something back that is intended to be a love letter in disguise. Here is the exchange, starting with her email:

"You never bother me. :)

"I had already planned to arrive at the Starbuck's at 10 am, I'm picking up the rental car at 7 (enjoy sleeping in!) and according to Google Maps, it should be about a 2.5 hour drive. That gives me some confusion margin too. :) So as long as I don't get lost somewhere (which might happen) or get hit by another car, we should be fine.

"By the way, I attach a still frame of you from my MEN Fair footage. This is you, waiting for the shuttle after breakfast Saturday morning. See that sweet morning light?"

The photo that she included was probably the most flattering photograph ever taken of me. The light was perfect. I'm going to post it on FB in a minute. I just realized that this is how she sees me. Just like how I posted a gorgeous photo that I took of her yesterday so that she would see how I see her. Of course the photo she took is much better than the one I took.

So this was what I immediately wrote back:

"You are going to love filming at this vineyard. Especially later in the afternoon. There are low mountains that embrace it. A large pond with little ducks that hide in the brush on the other side and then sneak out to see what we are doing. The vineyard has rolling green hills with row after row of vines and the fruit is big and heavy and purple and fragrant and you can eat one of the grapes and taste what the wine will be. There are swallows that swoop down over the vines and across the pond.

"We will miss the sweet morning light though, I think.

"That is a very nice photograph. Thank you."

You see what I did there? I wanted to write her a love letter. But I wanted it to be veiled as something innocent. I wanted to write something that she will read again and again until it becomes hypnotic.

And I put 'we' in the middle of it, in a future context. A promise. It is an innocent 'we' in a sense, because it is a simple fact that she and I will both be there tomorrow. But I describe this in a piece of writing that ignores the official reason why we will be there (I am guesting on a TV show and I arranged for them to film there. Helenah will be filming me getting filmed, which I know is weird). It creates a tiny bubble of an idyllic world occupied solely by the two of us.

And I'm essentially putting something in her mouth (the grapes) and making her think about all of her different senses at once.

I wanted to craft the exact paragraph that will tip her over the point of no return. I wanted to hand her the promise of a self-contained and perfect universe. I want her to sit there for a long moment imagining being in this perfect place with me. I want her to fall irrevocably in love with me.

Yet it remains under a veil. I am simply describing the setting where we will be filming tomorrow. A very proper, normal professional thing to do. I am a writer and she is a filmmaker. I'm leaving her with a place to hide and yet making it perfectly clear how badly I want her.

This was, I think, the most perfect love letter that I could possibly have sent to this particular woman at this particular moment.

10:58 p.m. - 2011-09-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far