cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What its like for her

We're both getting ridiculously excited about taking this trip to Texas together.

I want to understand more what this is like for her. Did she have a crush on me before we even met? What did she expect was going to happen after we met?

She started out nominally trying to maintain this sort of professional distance of filmmaker and subject. Expecting me to ignore her presence except when she is asking me questions. But I just refused to cooperate. I can't ignore her. I had to treat her like a human being. I just made it into a partnership immediately. In fact, if you watch the trailer that she filmed the very first day we met you will see that I'm carrying her tripod and other equipment around while she's filming me. I couldn't bear to watch her lug all of it around herself.

That attitude of distance lasted maybe an hour at the most. I made it clear very quickly that I wasn't going to act like a documentary subject is supposed to. She could have passed on working with me if that was a problem. But she didn't. She only became more and more committed to the project. After our first meeting she went home and write a blog entry about how incredibly happy she was after meeting me.

What is it like? To spend weeks researching someone, reading everything he has written, watching every clip of video he appears in, reading every interview and article about him, to seek him out, and then have him fall madly in love with you? What a thing that must be for her. She had to become obsessed with me to get to this point. To do all of that research on me and to decide to spend months with me for the film. She is fascinated with me.

Did she ever expect that I would become equally obsessed with her? Is it even possible to keep our personal feelings about each other out of the film we're making?

There is something very strange and uniquely romantic about the whole situation.

8:47 p.m. - 2011-10-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far