cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Baby Bear

[written yesterday and posted now]

I've just read a completely retarded piece by Maureen Dowd about E. Hemingway today. It put me in mind of the overall situation.

To some few thousands of people, I am their modern Ernest Hemingway. Trust me, I get the fan mail. This isn't something I'm usually comfortable talking about. When I went into the studio a week or 2 ago to record that r@dio essay for NPR, the producer stopped the recording after my perfect second take and told me that the essay sounded just like Ernest Hemingway. And I didn't know what to say to that.

Yes, I did deliberately set out to occupy a space that has been vacant in popular culture for a long time. I didn't start reading him until after I was pretty well developed as a writer. It was Erin who told me that I sounded like him and suggested that I read him.

I am primarily a non-fiction writer so far. Not a novelist. But I've noticed that there are similarities emerging in my life and career that are eerie. I keep getting drawn back to the Florida Keys. I'm in the middle of an affair and a separation that is frighteningly similar to EH's situation with Hadley and his next wife in Paris.

What I don't have is his discipline as a writer, in terms of time every day.

Today I was offered a very likely opportunity to travel to Gabon in the spring to do some writing and hunting and probably make a documentary film. I will probably take it. I'm trying to talk Helenah into coming with me to film. She has some issues with her student visa and needing to find official employment when it runs out that need to be sorted out. What I want to do is just marry her so that she can have permanent residency and citizenship if she wants it. I have not said this to her yet. There is no point in bringing it up until I've gotten the divorce proceedings started.

She is cross with me this evening because I wrote something to her more brusquely than I had intended. I regret this very much. I am waiting for her to log into gmail chat so I can talk to her. She's off in some little town on the Bay this weekend filming another documentary for PBS. I miss her very much.

I spent last night at Mary's parents' place in the mountains. Dinner with all of them and with the President or former president or something of the Audub0n Society and his wife. I got drunk with Mary after everyone else had gone to bed and we talked about Helenah. I woke up with a raging headache and wandered in my underwear to the bathroom to drink down a few quarts or water and swallow an aspirin and I went back to sleep.

Later I work just in time for breakfast at table with everyone else. And then F. and I went out hunting for deer with his handmade bow and we saw no deer but found the skull of a baby bear.

10:18 p.m. - 2011-10-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far