cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Idol Business

It is fucking exhausting being a personal hero to ten people all day long.

The people who take my classes now are a little bit different from the people last year. A lot of them now are here because it is their way of getting to spend two days with someone they idolize. This means that in addition to being a science teacher, shooting instructor and butcher, I also have to live up to this idea of me that they have. They want me to be the swashbuckling hero that they have read about, hunting wild b0ar on foot armed only with a knife and all that.

I'm ok with this. It is exhausting, but I'm ok with it.

That article about me is finally about to run in Men's J0urnal, I think. They've been doing what appears to be final fact-checking. I worry what it is going to be like. Gr@nt and I left things on less than ideal terms.

Slim and fit, close-cropped hair, tough yet kind; brutal when necessary; and a pretty good cook. Worn-out old combat boots and blue jeans. Ever-present hunting knife poking out of the back pocket. Yeah, I have an image. A brand.

I set out to be something that the world needed. And I think that now I really am it.

11:07 p.m. - 2011-11-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far