cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I, Editor

Oh shit I seem to be editing a book.

Last night I got to talking to L., the chick whom I went to prom with when I was 16 and who broke my heart and it took like 10 years to get over it. But then she got kind of fat and I got hotter and more successful so its all ok now.

Yeah. Anyway, we are both alumni of this residential program at a university for y0ung writers, which was how we met. This program is now running into financial problems, and L. is involved with running it now. So I had an idea for how to raise a bunch of money for them.

Obviously we should have an anthology of work by noteworthy alumni of the program, with benefits to proceed, etc, etc.

It so happens that my little circle of friends from the years I was there include some very successful writers. The editor of Ment@l Fl0ss is a good friend. The author of a book about immigrant kids at a sch00l in NYC, which was just profiled by NPR and recommended by Pe0ple Magazine and shit (Brooke is actually my ex-girlfriend).

And my very good friend Randy has a book out now that is huge. 'M1ss Peregr1ne's H0me for Pecul1ar Ch1ldren.'

Randy actually came up with the concept for that book based on some shit I did on Facebook a few years ago. I was posting old photographs and making up a story to go along with them. And then he took that and did it 100 times better and now its a best-seller and they are making a movie of it and Tim Burt0n is directing it and shit.

Randy, Brooke, Chris and myself were all really close for one summer in particular. Right now we all have books (ok a magazine in Chris' case) that are selling extremely well and between our contributions we can surely sell enough books to raise a substantial amount of money to keep the Workshop going.

Thus far I seem to be in charge of this. I would hope that once we have a publisher (probably a certain university press) to work with then an editor from the press will take over. But right now I'm in charge of it and I'm wrangling submissions from selected alumni and I will probably act as the unpaid literary agent.

Whee. I suppose that the experience should be worth something even though I'm not getting paid anything.

12:10 a.m. - 2011-12-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far