cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Big Talk

This morning I finally had a conversation with my publisher after playing phone tag for the last 4 days. It went better than I had expected.

What it comes down to is that they are terrified of the possibility that I might disown the book. This is going to be their flagship book launching in the fall of 2012 catalog. It is their top priority. They intend to send me on a proper book tour and promote the hell out of it. They are about to drop another $15,000 on the illustrations. They are caving on most of my editorial demands.

She told me that not only does she love the book, but everyone they have shown the manuscript to loves it. This was good to hear. I still don't have a really clear idea as to whether the book is any good. Until this morning, as far as I knew nobody had read the whole thing except for myself and my editor.

I have a confession to make: I haven't read my own book. At no point have I sat down to read through the entire manuscript in one go, except for when I was working through edits.

I don't have anyone to show it to. Helenah isn't much of a reader and English isn't her first language, so I don't know that her feedback would be especially useful. My mother will want a look at it but I can't take her opinion seriously even though she is a professional writer.

This book is good but it is far from the best that I can do. I put a lot of work into the travel and the research but the actual writing was banged out pretty quick. My books will get better and better as I go on.

This other book project looks like its on so far. This is the benefit anthology. The key authors have all agreed to do it.

2:53 p.m. - 2011-12-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far