cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Transmission

So far I've learned the following songs by Joy Division on my electric bass. 'Disorder,' 'Isolation,' 'Transmission,' 'Shadowplay,' 'These Days,' and New Order's 'Ceremony' (which is basically a Joy Division song).

I feel much better doing this lately. When I'm writing or editing and can't look at something any longer I plug in my bass, put the song on, and run through 'Disorder' or whatever a few times. It seems to cleanse the palate for writing.

None of it is very complicated material but its fun to play and I make very fast progress. I haven't played either guitar or bass with any kind of discipline in over 10 years but its all coming back to me pretty quickly. My hands can't keep up with my brain so far. My right hand and elbow in particular get sore after about 10 minutes. That will improve soon enough. The callouses are starting to build up again on my fingertips.

I have no particular desire to be in a band again or to perform. I just like playing the instrument and I think the habit is doing good things for my mind.

My instrument is a fretless 4 string bass that I had custom built 12 years ago by C@rvin to replace one that I had built myself, which was stolen. It has a 'blueburst' paint job, inlaid fret markers, a pair of stacked humbucking pickups, a triangular headstock, strat-style horns, and various other little custom features that wouldn't possibly be of any interest to anyone but me.

12:53 a.m. - 2012-01-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far