cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stupid Agent...

Its time to start selling the foreign rights to my new book. The manuscript is fully finished and edited and in book design. Selling foreign rights was always a big part of the business plan for this book.

Just one problem. I reviewed my contract with the agent I booted and I'm pretty sure that she has the legal right to act as agent and receive commissions on foreign rights for this book.

The problem isn't so much the commission. The problem is that she won't fucking do anything. I let her go because she didn't get anything done. She's semi-retired and spends most of her time on a farm in Verm0nt milking goats. She fucked up and dropped the ball too many times.

And now I'm stuck dealing with her for the foreign rights on this book. After I gave her the boot. She is the agency principal at a firm of only 5 employees. There's no going around her to someone else within the agency.

Fuuuuck.

I don't even want to talk to her. Not sure how to handle this. I need an agent to go deal with my agent.

Something has to give. I don't know whether its possible to get her to do her fucking job. I don't have the money for a lawyer to have the contract dissolved (which is theoretically possible, since she failed to do her job as outlined in the contract). This is potentially a lot of money on the table here for foreign rights and I can't ignore it.

A reasonable set of expectations would go something like this for the advances:

Germany - $3,000
French (worldwide) - $3,000
Spanish (worldwide) - $3,000
China - $1,000
Sweden - $1,000
Japan - $1,000
Czech Republic - $500
Norway - $500
Russia - $500
South Korea - $1,000

I think that I could rack up $15,000 in various small advances, so long as I have a rights agent who is doing her job in an active way. And then there are potentially various other smaller markets that would yield probably $500 or less in advances. Like a Latvian translation, or Catalan or Afrikaans or what-have-you. Small markets that aren't much each but could add up to a little something. And then maybe some of these other global deals result in enough sales to actually earn some royalties in a year or two.

But its all stuck right now with this retarded fucking lit agent whom I can't get rid of.

If I can get this sorted out soon then I think there is still enough time left for the money to come in by August of this year when I will absolutely need serious new income coming in to avoid becoming homeless and destitute.

10:44 p.m. - 2012-02-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far