cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Guess What?

Here's something that terrifies me constantly: The idea that my greatest triumphs and adventures could be in my past. This is a constant motivating factor for me. That is the real reason for the OBX trip.

Its the reason for the African stuff. For a lot of things. I have a constant need to do better, go farther.

I've written two books for a major publisher. I've been featured by the NYT, WP, and every major newspaper out there. I've been a commentator for NPR, I've taught classes to people from all over the world. I'm giving a 45 minute speech at the St@te Department in less than 2 weeks. I have a 12 state book tour coming up this fall. There's a feature film about me launching in October.

And you know what? I never graduated from high school. Never got a GED, either. Nope.

I left high school a year early to start college. Never graduated. Spent 4 years in college and then ran out of money. Nothing to eat. I got a full time job and had no time or money for school. Oh, I had enough credits to graduate, except that I'd transferred and they only accepted 70% of my credits. So I did all of the work and didn't get a diploma.

So no high school diploma and no college diploma. I have no credentials whatsoever. I am officially a high school dropout.

You know how much that has inhibited my career? Not one iota. Its never come up. Never been an issue at all. I'm lecturing at the St@te Department.

10:47 p.m. - 2012-04-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far