cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Her First Electric Guitar

Today I bought Ida her first electric guitar. The funny thing was that I didn't even stop to think about whether or not I could afford it.

She's 8 years old. She's been trying to play my old Strat for a few months but its too big for her.

We were running errands downtown and I thought we should stop in at the pawn shop because I wanted to see if they had a cheap old snare drum that I could pick up for Harry. What they had was a little Iban3z electric in a 3/4 scale made to fit a kid her size. A real guitar, not a toy, only scaled down just right.

She had no idea what was happening. I asked the clerk to hand the instrument down for me to inspect and then I asked her to hold it to make sure it fit. Then I checked out the electronics and dropped $100 on the counter and bought it. Ida was stunned.

This was probably one of those days that she will remember for the rest of her life.

We had a little lesson tonight. I taught her 3 new chords and we worked on some little technique things. But it remains to see whether she will stick with this for long enough to really learn how to play.

If she's smart, she'll spend all summer practicing and then by the time she starts 3rd grade she'll know a bunch of songs and be pretty good and she can be a total badass. I taught her the lead part to a Joy Division song last month and maybe she can master that. Then there are a few songs by The Breeders that I think she can tackle. She really likes The Clash, so maybe I can find something of theirs that she can handle. 'Should I Stay or Should I Go' would be easy for her to tackle. Although her favorite Clash album is actually Sandinista, surprisingly enough. I'm mostly a Combat Rock kind of guy, though I love Sandinista as well. But if anything, I have to admit that favoring Sandinista is probably fairly sophisticated of her.

1:33 a.m. - 2012-05-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far