cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Seventeen Seconds

She's been so much fun. Ida has.

Either in this diary or the one on DL that preceded it is the entry from the day that she was born.

And she's turned out to be so much *fun.* Who knew?

She was never very difficult. Never badly behaved. Learned to read early. I taught her with flashcards and scrawled letters since she was 3. Now she has better handwriting than I do, at the age of 8. Can spell quite well.

Ida is a decent shot with rifle or pistol, thought we don't have a shotgun that fits her well. She's read some Kipling, Twain, and so forth. Into the Clash. She can build a fire, construct a lean-to, butcher a deer, cook a dozen different things for dinner. Sharpen a knife, gut and scale a fish.

Now she can play a few chords on a guitar. It will be nice if she can get better at that.

I made someone in my own image. She can do things at the age of 8 that I didn't even know mattered until I was in my 20's. I taught her to read and write and draw and play guitar. I taught her the history of western civilization. Greek and Roman mythology and Greek history and the story of the early and middle kingdoms in Egypt and the life of Alexander and on and on.

This summer I am hoping to instill the fundamentals of Egyptian hieroglyphics and of Minoan Linear B, those being the only dead languages that I have a basic handle on. Also a good grounding in the guitar, and the rest of Western Civ through the 20th century. Her geography is decent but needs work.

I have been giving her the education that I wish that I had gotten. The result, sadly, is that they can't do a damned thing with her in school. She's learning everything that really matters from me.

2:47 a.m. - 2012-05-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far