cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Feature Gig!

Whoa!

Ok, so I started throwing out some long-shot pitches for magazine articles to get the bills paid for the rest of the year. Big-name national magazines that pay really well for features. And no more pitches for bullshit under 1,000 words. Full features that will pay top dollar.

So I pitched blind to Sm1ths0n1@n M@gaz1ne, along with pitches to Outside, 0utd00r L1fe, etc. etc. All different articles to each publication.

Lo and behold, I just got a response from Sm1ths0n1@n! They want the article.

Oh, but it gets better. The sc1ence editor is about to leave to take over that spot at Sl@t3 dot com. Not only does she want to buy my article for Sm1ths0ni@n but she wants me to write for her at Sl@t3 as well.

The article that they want is going to be a hell of a lot of fun to write. Basically I'm trying to prove that there are now w1ld all1g@t0rs in V1rg1ni@. I'm putting together a week-long expedition to look for them around the border with NC. Out in the swamps and creeks, patrolling at night with spotlights and checking cameras over baits during the afternoon.

Now I'm just sort of spazzing out over the whole thing and I still need to reply to the editor tonight.

The prestige of writing for Sm1ths0ni@n is a big thing. If I can get a feature credit for that and Sl@te then I have myself a career and can make a living just doing that shit for a while. I won't starve or lose my home.

I'm not there yet. I don't have a check in hand. But my situation is looking way better today than it did yesterday.

10:17 p.m. - 2012-06-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far