cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Path to Survival Forms

I should know by Friday afternoon for sure whether I am getting this piece in Sm1ths0ni@n magazine.

This morning I found out that they definitely pay really well for features. Between $2-3k. With this and one other smaller piece somewhere else I could have money put away to pay the bills for October.

I still have enough time before my stock sale money runs out to possibly rack up a few months worth of savings. Just don't fuck up with any of these articles. Keep pitching, deliver first rate material, and meet deadlines. If this works out then I have a real path to survival.

Sl@te might actually pay better for features than I had thought, from what I'm hearing today. With the in that I have now, I am thinking that I could feed them maybe 2 or 3 features a month. Add that to a feature every month for magazines like Sm1ths0nian and I think I could be making around $4k a month. That isn't a ton of money but its more than I'm living off of right now. Freelancing like that would keep me sleeping late and making my own schedule, which is important to me. Plenty of time for travel and writing my next book.

This shit would beat the hell out of writing books, if I can keep it up. $2,000 for one article and its all done in a matter of a week or two. The production cycle for books takes fucking forever. Sure, I can get a $15,000 advance for something (broken into several payments that are always made months later than promised) but then its going to be 12-18 months of back and forth and work before the thing is put away.

The main reason to keep writing books might be my original plan of producing half a dozen or so 'how-to' books on subjects that will sell a steady 5,000 or so copies every single year for decades. No huge sales in any one year, but steady royalties over time for each book. Getting $5k a year or whatever in royalties for one book isn't going to change my life, but if you multiply that by five or six books then that starts to look like a big component of a retirement plan. If I owned my own little house on my own piece of land without rent or mortgage then I could live very comfortably off of $30k a year right now.

2:40 a.m. - 2012-06-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far