cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bad Timing

I sold a few more articles to Sl@te, but they aren't going to run right away. Bah.

The awesome thing about my latest piece that they took is that it is for the food section rather than the science section that I have been writing for. This expands my horizons &shit.

My piece that they just bought is about finding the evolutionary origins of t@sting like Ch1cken. Where, in the history of evolution, did this begin?

Come on, that is just fucking awesome. It will totally be really really popular and get passed around and go viral and shit. Unfortunately it isn't going to run until late September. WHAT THE FUCK.

The problem with these delays is that I need to sell articles to higher-paying magazines right now in order to pay the bills in October and onward. The articles that Slate has been buying from me will be very provocative, sometimes controversial, and highly original. Careers are built on being published by Sl@te. I was listening to NPR today in the car while driving to MA and 3 different people on 3 different shows were introduced and justified as important by way of saying that they write for Sl@te dot com.

My first piece for them was really successful, but I need a few more to run to be cemented as one of their new stars. Having them wait to run my new stuff for them is also delaying my ability to be quite so amazingly marketable to less prestigious yet better paying publications.

Its a weird spot to be in. I'm about to be Sl@te's new star writer, as soon as these 3 articles run, but I'm so fucked in terms of paying the bills in October that I might have to walk away from this whole thing and take a day job right before my big mainstream breakthrough. With a new book launching at the same time. Its really fucking awkward.

I just need some way to pay a month's worth of bills. $3k. If I can't line that up really fucking soon then I'm going to have to walk away right at the moment when my career as a writer is going from 'struggling pro' to 'established public intellectual.'

Also I'm hungry.

11:47 p.m. - 2012-08-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far