cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

T1me Magazine Interview

Tomorrow morning I'm leaving on a train for NYC days earlier than expected. The reason for this is that TIME m@gazine suddenly wants to interview me. Well, fuck.

This will be a 4 day trip. Wednesday is completely free! I have never had a whole day in NYC without any obligations. My publisher is putting me up in a nice hotel in Brooklyn.

One interview with Time at their HQ on Tuesday right after lunch, followed by an unrelated in-studio radio interview (pre-recorded) a few hours later in Brooklyn. Then I have all of Wednesday free. Thursday I have to walk around with some people from Prevent10n magazine in a park for a weird sort of video interview. Then that afternoon I take the train to DC, spend the night there with Helenah, and then take the train home with her on Friday evening.

I would rather not be gone this long. Especially right now, when I have magazine articles to pitch. More importantly, Harry is sick. I've been nursing him all night. He has a high fever. 102 degrees isn't as bad for a 5 year old as for an adult but its still pretty bad. I wish I could stay home to take care of him tomorrow but Trish is going to have to do that, what with the NYC trip.

Finally he seems to be resting more comfortably so I think I can go to sleep. I have to wake up in 4 hours to get Ida ready for school and then go to the train station. Fuck fuck fuck. Its going to be a rough, sleepy day and then I have to find my way to this hotel in Brooklyn on no sleep. I might have to give up and take a cab even though I can't really afford it.

Also I turned in the last edits on my new piece for Sl@te last night. I hope it runs tomorrow. Everyone seems to read these things that I write for Sl@te and it would be nice to have my name and work on the interviewers' minds when I meet them in NY.

I think that the T1me interview will go pretty well. I've done a million of these things before, just not for Time. The exposure will be huge and this should not only drive a lot more book sales but also help drum up public speaking business for me. I wish I had more of something to sell out there on the market in order to benefit from publicity. Book sales are cool, but they don't put more money in my pocket for a long time due to how the royalty system works.

1:42 a.m. - 2012-08-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far