cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Escape Option

I'm trying to plan for bad possibilities. Right now I have no way to pay the bills in a few weeks. Nothing seems to be panning out. The idea of continuing on like this for another year is starting to seem ridiculous.

One thing that I am contemplating is that if I can somehow survive and keep the rent paid until the end of this lease in April, perhaps I should get out of the Continental US for a while to make my money go farther.

Another book advance would go a lot farther in Puerto Rico than here. I think that I could like on $1,000 a month pretty well over there. If I can't command a big advance for my next book then this might be a good strategy for survival. I can write from anywhere that I have electricity and internet access.

So I am thinking about putting all of my possessions into storage at the end of April, collecting my $5k deposit back, and then flying out to PR for a while to live on the cheap while delivering another book.

A small town on the water is what I'm looking for. Some place where I can live a few minutes away from the beach and do a lot of fishing. Preferably somewhere that I don't have to own a car, although if I did it wouldn't be the worst thing. I could always just sell it and get my money back before coming home to the States.

Some place like this really appeals to me:

http://puertorico.en.craigslist.org/apa/3196993662.html

11:37 p.m. - 2012-09-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far