cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Famous Enough?

I'm watching the movie about me again. Man, this is weird. Its hard to watch.

There was another screening of the film today. All film students. Sort of half-way between a test screening and the real premiere in November. Once again, I'm told that everyone loved it. I wish I could put the link up here but for many reasons that would be very dangerous.

Helenah just got a nice fat grant to cover the costs of entering it in a lot more film festivals. I'm trying to be enthusiastic, but I can't imagine being able to watch this film in a room full of strangers. This is me. This is my life. This is my life falling apart and being sort of reconstituted while I also write a book. With the camera on.

How can someone come to grips with that? This is a pretty fucking small club I'm in here.

Meanwhile the TIME m@gazine piece ran and I'm definitely famous now. Current issue, page one fifty something. Its the page about the guy eating weird shit.

I found out this morning in an email form my publicist that pre-orders for the new book (which doesn't launch for a few weeks) spiked through the fucking roof when the TIME piece ran.

I'd planned on waiting until some time in November to pitch the next book but I can't wait that long. I'm desperate now. I have no way to pay the bills in a few weeks. I need to sell the next book and get a proper book advance ASAP. On Monday an article and video about me runs on Prevent1on Magazine. Pre-orders for the book will go crazy when that happens. So I've decided that I'm sending out the email pitching my next few books on Monday night. My publishers will be jizzing their pants right then over the publicity for the new book and it seems like a good opportunity to ask them for fifty thousand dollars or so.

11:55 p.m. - 2012-09-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far