cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Y@le

The article and video on Prevent10n didn't go live today. Maybe tomorrow?

I had a good phone call with the latest TV production company. They want to change the written agreement to establish an option on the book as well as on me. This gives me a good opportunity to ask for money for that.

Today I sent out an email to my publisher, starting the conversation about what my next book will be. What I'd like to do is sell them two books at once. One that I can bang out pretty quickly for a smaller advance (probably $10k or less) and then the big follow-up to my latest book which will take a lot longer and require at least a $40k advance, plus expenses to cover all of the travel.

I wish that there were more people whom I could talk to in order to help sort through all of this business. The thing about being a professional author is that it is a solitary job by definition. There are no co-workers to consult with.

Online forums for this shit are useless. Any sort of forum for writers is quickly dominated by unpublished amateurs who ask the same amateurish questions again and again and again and it creates an atmosphere in which the few professionals don't feel that they can speak candidly with each other.

Also today I was invited to speak at Y@le in New Haven this coming February. Very flattering and I hope to be there, assuming that I am not homeless and unable to travel by then.

Why the fuck is it that the author of two books who receives speaking invitations from the St@te Department and Y@le cannot find anyone willing to pay him for anything? Why? What the fuck is wrong with this economy?

This is exactly the career that all of those hopeful people on writers' message boards are trying to achieve. Folks, it fucking sucks. Stick with your day job.

9:56 p.m. - 2012-09-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far