cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Pulsing Blade

Yesterday evening I came upon the fresh scene of an accident in the road. A woman had hit a bear and badly damaged her car. Long story short, I pulled over to deal with it. Foolishly I had left the house without any sort of gun and I regretted this quickly.

I crept up silently behind the mortally wounded bear that lay in the middle of the road and drew my long, razor sharp knife from its sheath. Judge the position. Look at where the front leg joins the body. Back up a touch from there.

And turn the blade to align with the ribs, so that it does not stop on the bone but rather slide in. And two quick steps and plunging the knife in to find the heart with a twist of a fraction of a second and then dart back before the great, thick paw and its heavy claws can swipe at my arm and face.

The knife throbbed in the bear's side for a moment, pulsing with each dying beat of the bear's heart. And then it stopped and I knew that the poor beast had finally died.

I walked back to the woman on the other side of her cracked SUV.

"Was it dead?," she asked.

"Yeah," I replied. "It was already dead. It must have died instantly."

9:47 p.m. - 2012-09-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far