cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Everything Hits the Fan and I am Famous

Well, holy shit. A lot happened in the last 48 hours. My new piece in Sl@te finally ran and the video on Pr3vention finally posted. Along with Two other articles about me on Pr3vention.

Everything went fucking viral. I've been getting constant email about my latest Sl@te piece. The pigeon thing in Pr3vention went everywhere. I've been getting interview requests about it from as far away as Ireland. Literally, I'm doing an interview on Irish radio in a few days.

Someone at the WaPo wants to interview me about my new book and about the pigeon thing. But more importantly, someone else from the W@shington P0st emailed me yesterday. An editor.

I've been asked to start writing for the Post's Health and Science section. FUCK YES. I've already sold them my first feature. Finally a gig that will pay real money.

Also, this weird bi-coastal group of ultra-wealthy people who eat strange food want to pay me to put together a dinner for them, involving the species in my new book. That should pay a few thousand dollars.

There is so much weird shit going on my life right now that I don't even know how to describe all of it.

Also I'm cooking bear meat for dinner tonight.

Andr3w Sull1van wrote about me yesterday. As did the Huff1ngt0n Post.

As of now, I am famous. I don't know how long it will last, but the awesome thing about this media boom as opposed to every one I've had before is that this isn't about just one thing. Its about my book, and my science-heavy piece for Slate, and about the video of me running down p1geons on foot in C3ntral Park that millions of people have watched. All at once. I get a lot of fan mail. I am literally famous. Millions of people are following what I say and do and suddenly I feel like I might have finally crossed a threshold across which I can possibly make a living.

8:08 p.m. - 2012-09-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far