cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Get My Ass Down to FL

Today I pitched a feature to 0utdoor L1fe magazine and quickly got a promising answer on it. 50/50 it gets picked up. The whole reason why I pitched it is that I want to drive down to the Florida Keys in this car I'm buying in a few days. I want to get the hell out of winter and go fishing for a while and I thought that it would be good if someone else paid me to do it.

The money will also be good. Probably at least a thousand dollars, maybe a couple of thousands. More importantly, its a magazine that Teddy Roosevelt wrote for. Also Zane Grey, and other worthwhile people whom I like to think might have patterned their lives after me had we been born the other way round.

I want to be a historical figure.

Right now I am a personal hero to thousands of people. But I want to make the jump up to millions. I want to live the sort of life that people aspire to long after I'm gone. And of course it isn't enough just to live it -- I have to keep writing about it as well. Write about it well.

Fishing is always a dangerous area for me to venture into because I am not a great fisherman. Particularly with salt water stuff. I'm an ok fisherman. I am a great hunter, capable of making magnificently impressive shots with a rifle under the most trying of circumstances. I'm a good tracker. But I'm nothing special with a rod and reel. When I veer into fishing I depend more on writing ability than on real prowess.

10:58 p.m. - 2013-01-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far