cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Next Book, etc

A few days ago I had a lunch meeting with a book editor from N@tional G3ographic. They want me to sign with them for my next book. Looks like I'm probably going to do it. It depends on exactly what kind of advance they offer. With the CBS morning show thing coming up soon, I think I should be in a position to demand something. I want an advance that pays the bills for at least 4 months, and I might push for a 2 or 3 book deal.

I would do one book of the type that they want for $12k, or 3 books for $9k each. Plus expenses. I could get all 3 done in a year and live very comfortably. And in the bargain, I'll do any number of events at NG headquarters in DC for book promotion. Lectures, panels, fundraisers, whatever.

Right now I think that my full attention needs to be on securing another book deal at a decent wage. Enough time spent promoting the last one. I can't live in the past or even the present. Time to sell the next book.

12:27 a.m. - 2013-02-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far