cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lecturing at the Smiths0nian

In 10 or 11 days I will deliver a lecture at the Smiths0nian Institution.

Probably I should start working on that.

I have an existing Powerpoint thingie. But I'm supposed to add another 30 minutes to it. The fuck if I have any idea how to make a Powerpoint presentation. Helenah helped with the last one that I'd been using ever since.

The W@shington Post is coming to cover it. I also often write for the Post in the science section.

This is sort of a big deal for me. Lecturing at Sm1thsonian is actually a really big fucking deal in general. I'm not all that excited because I have nobody to be excited with.

It comes at just the right time professionally. I'm about to start negotiating my payment for creating a TV show that we've just signed a big-deal celebrity chef to host. A generic consulting producer would make about $3k a week for pre-production work on a show like this. But now I'm not a generic consulting producer. I am the guy who lectures at the Smiths0nian and can maybe charge $4k a week and push for an extra quarter point above the line.

At the same time, I value the experience for what it is. Being asked to speak here is a flattering thing and it expresses an appreciation for the work I have done to this point. I wish I had someone to do this with.

12:56 a.m. - 2016-11-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far