cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Got to Fuck an Australian Chick!

I am in Panama, on assignment for Sm1ths0nian Magazine. I have been here for most of the past week.

Never in my life have I felt as competent as I have here. Navigating this world of scientists from various disciplines, working on assignments and prospecting for new stories. I have been doing 2 to 4 interviews per day, ricocheting around between botany, archaeology, entomology, anthropology and many other sciences. And I have never for a moment felt out of my depth.

A paper is mentioned, I have usually read it. A scientist's named dropped; we've met and I've read his work. In some cases, a book I wrote was on someone's book shelf in their office. In all of these different fields, I have more than basic competency and can speak to them almost as colleagues.

These are some of the smartest people in the world. At the top of their respective fields. And I have really felt like I belong.

A few nights ago I was staying at a research station on an island in a lake that is part of the Panama Canal. After my work for the day, interviewing scientists and inspecting and photographing field work, I was invited to a party where an Australian entomologist and former professional classical trumpet player attached herself to me.

Long story short, we fucked about 8 times between midnight and dawn.

Tomorrow night I will be back in Panama City and she has invited me to stay with her at a resort where she is blowing off steam for a few days after months of grueling field work.

Panama is fucking awesome. I love everything about this trip and have already been invited back to spend time at other field stations and come back to the ones I visited. And I can really make that happen! My work has been very much in demand for the last 2 months. I have been drowning in assignments. And I really like who I am on this trip. An author and journalist who has an unusually high level of competency in biology, ecology, soil sciences and botany who treats sources fairly and writes solid articles that represent the science accurately.

I like my Australian chick a lot. There probably isn't a future beyond tomorrow night and the following morning, but I like her a lot. I made her cum 3 times the night before last. Fucking an Australian was on my life list of things to do. If it can go anywhere after this, that would be nice.

Also a very important mosquito researcher gave me a really nice bottle of rum today. And a few days ago I spent time with the guy who discovered titanob0a. And last night I met the chick who wrote the paper on a group of birds called m@nakins that the NYT did a big feature on a few months ago. She is single and hot as shit, kind of older than me, but I would definitely sign up to get in bed with her every night for the rest of my life. My impression is that if I came back here for an extended period (which I could), I would have a shot there.

12:52 a.m. - 2017-02-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far