cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I just went on a date with Laur3n Effing H0ffman

That whole thing where I was trying to make an entire feature-length documentary film in only two months? Yeah, I did it. We did it. Delivered to the V1rginia F1lm Festival a few days ago.

The opening gala was tonight. I had this thing where I could get an additional ticket for anyone and it's kind of a big fucking deal. So the other night, when I was kind of drunk, I FB messaged Lauren H. The queen bee of the music scene around here. Who had a big multi-record deal with Virgin, and dated J3ff Buckl3y, and has a substantial following. Oh, and she was best friends with Trish (my ex-wife) in middle school before they had a falling out and became frenemies.

Lauren had offered a song to use in the film, which we accepted, and used for the closing credits. So it didn't come out of nowhere when I invited her to the gala. I wasn't sure if it would end up being a date per se but was ok with it either way.

So this was definitely a date. A good date. And I was having a very good night. I introduced her to the new speaker of the V1rginia house of del3gates, and all sorts of people came up to kiss my ass and sing my praises. And a filmmaker from Germany came up and said that people were talking about my film in Germany and invited me to come screen the film at Universities there (she teaches, and can arrange it), and now it looks like I'm going to have a little tour in Germany and Austria.

She was an excellent date, with good conversation and she was able to talk to all sorts of people and help things along.

And it was a real date. She even dealt gracefully with Mary B. trying to hijack things by being charming and fun and trying to take me home with her. She stuck with me the whole night, and acted the part.

And I liked her a lot. I liked her anyway, but I liked her a lot in this context. And she liked me. After the gala, she suggested that we go to a certain fashionable bar for another drink and something to eat before I took her to her car. And she asked me to come over to her house and chop kindling to make a fire that we could sit around out back, but I decided that it would be best to save that for the next date.

This woman is a huge score.

We went to high school together. She was a year or two ahead of me and was way cooler. Now, she's a pillar of the music scene here. Lauren is the queen bee.

I've fantasized about dating her for the last few years but didn't make an attempt and she was way above my apparent rank in that scene. But bear in mind that I was a semi-famous author and journalist and person on TV before this. I'm actually very humble about all that shit in real life, and she and most of the people in that scene had no idea about any of that for a long time. I don't talk about that shit in normal life. I was just some guy whom they knew wrote about stuff and could sometimes do a music article about them.

So now she comes with me to this opening for a film festival where I'm the producer of THE it film that everyone wants tickets to, and everyone wants a photo and a moment of my time.

It was a real date. And she's pretty, and smart, and well-traveled, and talented, and I'd like to have more of being around her.

And oh shit, I might end up dating Laur3n H0ffm@n. At least I had a really great first date, and she seems to want a second date, and so do I.

If I fuck this up, I will be in a very bad place. Because she rules this social scene. I cannot be on the outs with the woman who runs this shit. But I really like her a lot, and I've been mentally undressing her for the last 20 years. This is a really big deal for me.

Yet I don't feel overwhelmed or outclassed. This woman is who she is and what she has done and created. She would be physically attractive to me anyway, but I am particularly attracted to her because of her body of work and her talent. I would rather date her than some random boring woman 10 years younger whom most people would rate a perfect 10.

I'm at a point where my own body of work is suddenly in demand and where we seem like creative equals.

This is a very impressive woman. I am tremendously honored to have spent an evening with her. I will ask her out again in the next few days, and probably suggest that I come over to chop her wood and sit by the fire with her. Any time that I get to spend with her is flattering. Lauren is a substantial woman and to spend more time with her would make me very happy.

2:11 a.m. - 2017-11-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far