cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fucking HBO? HBO!

Holy fuck. HBO just asked to see my film. They are interested. The head of the film festival we just screened at also offered to introduce us to people at CNN about it.

Meanwhile, I'm trying to set up a screening at a prestigious university in NYC and in LA. NYU or Columbia would be good on one side and UCLA would be good in LA. The whole point is to get press coverage in the NYT and the LA Times, which will be read by executives at Netflix and Amazon and Hulu and everywhere else so that they start coming to us with offers.

I don't know how the fuck I'm going to pay the bills next month and Christmas is the usual fucking nightmare on the horizon, but once again there is promise of millions of dollars about to appear. And for something that I originally did not think would have this kind of reach.

When I came up with this project, the goal was to have one screening at this one local film festival in Ch@rlottesville and that was the end of it. I did not expect that the world would freak out about this movie to this extent. This was not an opportunistic move on my part. I thought I was selflessly walking away from a respectable career as a science journalist for Sm1thsonian to do important civil rights journalism for a few months. I never thought that it would turn into what it has.

11:38 p.m. - 2017-11-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far