cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Four days post-stroke without alcohol, no problem

Quitting drinking turned out to be super easy so far. Not that I intend to never have another drink again -- I just need to respond to the fact of my mini stroke on Monday by not having any alcohol for at least a few weeks and then keeping my intake dialed back significantly.

It's Thursday morning and I haven't had a drink since quaffing two bottles of wine on Sunday night. So far, no cravings or withdrawal symptoms other than a whole lot of trouble sleeping when I need to, combined with lethargy through the day. But that might very well be after-effects of the stroke.

I need to lose about five pounds and 2-4 weeks without any booze should do that easily. I was consuming an average of a bottle of wine per night, 6 nights a week. Plus random beer a lot of evenings when out and about. I bet I was averaging 600-900 calories per day from alcohol consumption. Cutting that out will make a big difference, fast.

So exhausted right now. I got maybe 3 hours of sleep last night and then had to be up at 6:30 am to take the kids to school. And now I should be trying to pitch stories and get work done and I feel guilty for not doing it but I need to rest. I had a fucking stroke four days ago after all.

I think I need to wait another week or so before exercising.

Last night we went over to Lauren's house for pretty much the whole evening. Our kids made slime together upstairs and we hung out in the kitchen, where Lauren had a few glasses of wine and I did not. She ordered us all a fuck ton of sushi. I still can't figure out if she's interested in dating me or just wants to hang out a lot. I don't want to be the one who fucks up the friendship if she's not interested.

Right now I think I need to take a nap.

I've been trying kava kava for the last few nights to help with sleep but it isn't doing much of anything.

9:40 a.m. - 2017-11-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far