cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So much progress, and maybe a job offer

I looked in the mirror this evening and wow! Every few days without alcohol I keep aging in reverse even more. I very rarely take pictures of myself, but I took one tonight and posted it on Facebook and someone wrote that my skin looks "radiant."

My neck and face had been so bloated and I didn't quite realize it. And for the last few days, I've weighed about 164. Before I start exercising again (post-TIA and all), my goal is about 160. I'm a hair under 5' 9" tall so that seems about right.

The extra sleep and general rest is probably contributing to this as well.

Yesterday someone sent me a link to a job posting for a three month reporting gig to cover the state legislative assembly session (our legislature is only in session for a small part of the year in VA) and I sent off a resume and cover letter. Literally about 20 minutes later I had a response and they really want me. If anything, I'm kind of over-qualified for this, though I've never covered this kind of beat before. They wanted to talk salary right away and what they are offering would be quite a lot more than I've been making freelancing for the last few years. We're going to talk over the phone next week.

Odds are very good for me getting this job, though it's only for a few months. But I think the timing could work out perfectly. It would start on January 8th. I can have my book proposal done by then and three months is probably a reasonable time in which to line up a book deal. Hopefully I can do this for three months and then have a nice fat book advance to live on for the next 6-12 months after that while writing the book.

I reached out to my contacts at Sm1thsonian last night about screening my film in one of their theaters. In addition to writing for them for the last two years, I lectured there almost exactly a year ago so the coordinators for those kinds of events know me (Sm1thsonian Ass0ciates). I would really like to screen this at the Museum of Afr1can American History. They have a really nice theater there that is about the right size.

There's also an independent theater in Baltimore that is interested in hosting a screening and they asked for a screener of the film. Fingers crossed. I need to do some more research on theaters in other cities to reach out to.

Yesterday morning I went to a local synagogue to film a few interviews and other footage in order to add some material to the film that shows the impact that 8/12 had here on the local Jewish community. I had really missed doing this! I like the day-to-day film-making process in the field. And I would like to make another film after we get distribution lined up for the first one. I have a subject in mind.

I'm happy, I'm healthy, I look great, I'm reasonably productive and I have pretty good financial prospects shaping up. My bills are all late right now, but that's nothing new I can see things getting better.

And I have a date with Lauren tomorrow night!

2:33 a.m. - 2017-12-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far