cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I think maybe I get to leave here in a few weeks for good

I totally nailed that interview today with Northeastern. The new Executive Editor was the Mosc0w Bureau Chief of the B0ston Globe and won a Pul1tzer prize for his reporting on the Boston marathon bombing (which my father finished 15 minutes fast enough to escape). He did a ton of follow-up reporting on the bombing and really gets what it's like to cover a terrorist attack and then have the follow-up shit eat your life, which was exactly what happened to me.

Anyway, he is tremendously impressed with my CV and my work for the WP and for Sm1thsonian and especially my civil rights work for the last year or so. And he wants to hire me. He already said that I've made it to the next round. We discussed how early I can start and he asked me to start doing freelance stuff for them immediately since their science journalist left a week ago and they have nobody to cover that beat.

The salary range is good and there's a lot I would like about living in Boston and he seems like a good guy to work for, but I'm not sure I can make the housing situation work in Boston. Can I get a 2 or 3 bedroom near NEU in a school district where I would dare to send my son to middle school for a price I can possibly afford? It's all this shit that's like $1,600 a month, and you have to pay first and last month's rent plus a security deposit and an extra month's rent to the broker and it ends up being over $6k up front and out of pocket to rent some shit hole 4th floor walk-up with no washing machine that's 15 minutes walk from the T.

I'd be looking at around $70k but I don't think that is enough money in Boston to make the housing situation work. As much as I want to take that job.

But at the job in FL, I could easily get a place on Air B&B for a month or two for $1k a month while I find a permanent place for us to live. I can save a few thousand bucks fast in that job to cover first and last month's rent and get a nice little house within a 15 minute bike ride from campus, or if I have to drive there is parking right in front of the building.

I think I'm talking myself into taking this job in Florida. I'd have more money, what with the lower cost of housing and living. I think maybe FL is my first choice and Boston is the backup.

I'm not even looking at notifications on Bumble and OKCupid now. I'm leaving. Why would I start dating anyone?

My brain has fully checked out of Ch@rlottesville. I had a meeting with Steve today. I haven't met up with anyone else in at least 3 weeks. It's like I don't exist here anymore. I'm a ghost.

I think I'm going to get this job offer. And then I get to have a proper place to live. And a job where I get to be around other people. And then I can date for real. And get married and have babies and a dog and cook a roast on Sunday and mow the lawn and be a real person again.

12:49 a.m. - 2018-07-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far