cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can't fucking believe I'm applying for this job

I applied for a job tonight that I didn't think I would. A certain amount of wine played a role in that.

For around three years I freelanced for the number two paper in Charlottesville, The C-V1lle W33kly. And my shit was good. I wrote front-page features, music stories, arts, politics, etc. I was well-placed to write the political stuff, having worked in politics years before and I knew where all the bodies were buried.

They are hiring for a general assignment reporter. I applied for the job tonight.

But here's the thing: I sort of fucked that last year.

A locally well-known guy was on vacation in another state with a family friend, who was also from here and well-liked. The well-known guy got drunk and caused an accident in a golf cart, which killed the other guy. First guy was charged with manslaughter.

I investigated and wrote a piece about the death and the charge. It was mostly a celebration of the life of the guy who died. People with money found out about the piece in progress, intervened with the publisher, and got the story killed.

Months later, I was pissed. I posted the story I'd written on Facebook with an excoriation of the paper that had killed the article I wrote. The Cv1lle W33kly.

Now I am applying for a job at the paper that I called out for hiding a killing.

This is so fucked up.

I am qualified for prestigious jobs at newspapers, universities and other institutions around the world But I have to go home, to Ch@rlottesvill3. And there are only but so many jobs available there. So this is what I'm dealing with now.

12:24 a.m. - 2019-08-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far