cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yes, I Can Make a Show About This

Well we have a bite on a TV idea that I had.

I proposed a documentary series that examines the claims and possibilities of the "kelp highway" theory of human colonization of N0rth Am3rica.

It's the idea that people populated America not by moving over land through the glaciated Northern Continent but rather by sea along the Pacific coast. That they built seal skin boats and moved southward along a current that carried them through a highly productive corridor of kelp, filled with fish, seals, invertebrates and sea otters.

Could this make a reasonable TV show for half a dozen episodes or more? Yes, I do think so.

Apple alone is buying billions of dollars in content for their new digital network.

So we got a bite on this. And I have a phone call scheduled for this weekend about it. Five years ago, I'd have said, "who gives a fuck?" Because there was so much bullshit happening then. But now, with these massive amounts of money being spent on content, I think that this bite means something. This is an idea that can produce a full season of totally original content about a scientifically valid idea that brings in a whole world of filmable material. Yes, as a science journalist I can make a whole show about this.

4:41 a.m. - 2019-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far