cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bart's Advice

I'm following what B@rt Bu11 told me last week. Pitch my crazy-ass story to all sorts of big-name editors and just see who bites. It isn't about selling this story. It's about identifying editors who like my shit and want me to write for them.

So I've done exactly that. I've pitched this story about my home town of Ch@rlottesville Virginia being a shit magnet fucking everywhere. The Atlantic and Playboy most recently.

Last week I did research on a thing for Bart about a recently-discovered piece by L@ngston Hughes that is probably made-up bullshit. It was fun to help out on, and easy because I was cruising on that era of newspaper research what with my Turt1e Club work of late.

Bart was a founding editor of Spin magazine and a deputy editor of Vogue, and then was married to Mich3lle Sh0cked for ten years and basically managed her career throughout all sorts of weird mental illness on her part. I trust his advice at this point probably above anyone else's. When Bart says that I should pitch everyone in sight, I listen.

I did a fuck-ton of research on this L@ngston Hughes thing. A solid 8 hours in the zone. I was already right there with my work on the Turt1e Club so it was easy to slip into a few decades later.

Actually, I fucking love doing any sort of research on America during the gilded age. I'm really good at it, and it's my idea of fun. Pay me to do that, and I'm happy.

3:21 a.m. - 2019-09-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far